Get new blog posts sent directly to your email inbox!

Today in World War II History

Read Today's Article

Murmur in the Mud Caves by Kathleen Denly

Murmur in the Mudcaves by Kathleen Denly

In 1873, Biddie Davidson dreams of opening a bakery in San Francisco for the city’s elite. But when she receives a letter from her long-lost sister, Ginny, Biddie is determined to go help. Since a devastating attack by bandits and a fire, Ginny is all alone on Lupine Valley Ranch in eastern San Diego County, and she needs the money sent by Biddie’s adoptive parents. The scene of devastation that greets Biddie and her companion Lucy seems helpless. What good can two city girls do?

Gideon Swift believes he was “broken” by the Civil War, suffering from debilitating migraines and restricted vision. He thinks he is unable to bear the responsibility of ranch work, so he accepts a job as cook at Lupine Valley Ranch. But he arrives to find his employer killed, and the man’s daughter, Ginny, trusts no man and runs him off her property. Gideon, however, is loath to leave a woman – and soon three women – defenseless in a harsh land where bandits roam. Biddie eventually convinces Ginny to allow Gideon to stay, but will his health cause more problems than he can solve by his presence?

With a determined heroine and a wounded hero, Murmur in the Mud Caves presents a sweet but poignant love story. Perfect for fans of Karen Witemeyer and Regina Jennings, Kathleen Denly‘s novel gives a fresh spin on the genre with a setting in Southern California. A powerful spiritual message adds to the appeal of this thoroughly enjoyable story. A fabulous read!

Comments are closed.

Embers in the London Sky cover
“Another masterful installment in Sundin’s roster of WWII novels.”
—Booklist starred review for Embers in the London Sky
COMING SOON!

A Free Gift for You

Make It Do - The US Home Front in World War II

When you subscribe to my monthly enewsletter, you’ll also receive “Make It Do – The US Home Front in World War II,” a collection of my popular blog posts. As a subscriber, you’ll also be the first to learn about my upcoming novels.